Best Video Player for the Evoke

This forum is for anything related to the EVOKE model

Best Video Player for the Evoke

Postby Spyder » February 5th, 2013, 2:23 pm

I've got to admit, the primary reason I chose an Evoke was because of the HDMI output and the Mali GPU that should easily handle 1080p output. Over the years, I've accumulated video in a multitude of formats with different sound track codecs and was looking for one application that could:

1. List and thumbnail the videos on the Evoke / SD Card.
2. Display the names of the files.
3. Play all the normal formats (.mkv .mp4 .avi etc)
4. Play the audio tracks (DTS, mp3, AC3) in sync.

So far I've tried several video players ( VLC, DicePlayer, VPlayer, MX Player, in built Video Player) and each one satisfies some of the above, but so far I haven't found one that covers everything. I'm new to Android so forgive my ignorance, but can anyone recommend one player that will work on Android 4.1.1 specifically on the Evoke and do all the above? Or does such a beast even exist? If possible I'd like to avoid converting all my video to a single compatible format.
Thanks.
Spyder
Junior Scroller
Junior Scroller

Scroll Version: Scroll Evoke 4.1.1 (not rooted ... yet)

Re: Best Video Player for the Evoke

Postby Spyder » February 5th, 2013, 7:33 pm

Well after installing and testing dozens of video players I've found the one that appears to do everything I needed. And the winner is .... MoboPlayer. So far it's played everything I've thrown at it including a 1920*800 .mkv file with DTS audio. If anyone has any better suggestions, let me know but I'm very happy with the MoboPlayer functionality.
Spyder
Junior Scroller
Junior Scroller

Postby Trashcooky » February 5th, 2013, 10:25 pm