How to replace build.prop on the 1st gen Scroll - NOT Excel

Step by Step Guides and Tutorials here. (older models)

Do you prefer the new LCD Density of 140?

140 is Better
18
58%
160 is Better
13
42%
 
Total votes : 31

Re: How to replace build.prop to improve performance - updat

Postby Warpedflash » January 23rd, 2011, 7:24 pm

build.prop should not cause launcherpro to go into a force close loop.

Standard stuff
Make sure the new build.prop is there and its named build.prop (not build.prop.txt or anything)
Changed your launcher to either the standard or adb and see what it does?
Firmware Version: 1.01 - Latest known update - Locked Bootloader - No Market
viewtopic.php?f=27&t=125 - How to Root your Scroll
viewtopic.php?f=27&t=127 - How to Install Clockwork
viewtopic.php?f=27&t=147 - How to Replace build.prop
User avatar
Warpedflash
Scroll Genuis
Scroll Genuis
 
Posts: 723
Joined: January 4th, 2011, 5:36 pm

Re: How to replace build.prop to improve performance - updat

Postby Fraz » January 25th, 2011, 1:33 am

Build.prop will NOT affect LP or any launcher, can you please try to locate the original b.p file before replacing it with the updated version, as per previous posts it can be found at system / (scroll right down , it should be here )
Scroll Tablet - Root / Clockwork Mod Recovery / WarpedFlash Update v1
Model - S1008
Firmware - 0.94
Kernel - 2.6.29
O.S. - Android 2.1
Fraz
Junior Scroller
Junior Scroller
 
Posts: 15
Joined: January 9th, 2011, 12:30 am

Re: How to replace build.prop to improve performance - updat

Postby slarti99 » January 26th, 2011, 7:30 pm

OK thought I had got everything back but encountered the ADW Force close loop again. I wiped the cache (twice) but that had no effect so I did a wipe data/factory reset. Now I have slowly got most things back after going through the Android set up ("Set up your unknown" Android says !) apart from the market. When I use the market I get a server error - Retry or Cancel. Retry does not work even though I have a wifi connection (maps work). Any help ? I have no data on it to loose anymore.

Thanks
slarti99
Junior Scroller
Junior Scroller
 
Posts: 21
Joined: January 1st, 2011, 1:32 am

Re: How to replace build.prop to improve performance - updat

Postby JimmyW » January 26th, 2011, 11:26 pm

We're currently testing Steve's nice and lovely working 2.2 in irc slarti, So expect a release very very soon (unless you want to come in irc and test with the rest of us)
*JimmyW runs around waving a stick shouting "OUT! OUT! YOU DEMONS OF STUPIDITY!"

kernel: 2.6.29 | build: steroidROM 2.2 beta 1| Rooted | Clockwork | FlashliteImage
User avatar
JimmyW
Donator
Donator
 
Posts: 324
Joined: January 7th, 2011, 10:24 am
Location: Middlesbrough, UK

Re: How to replace build.prop to improve performance - updat

Postby slarti99 » January 27th, 2011, 10:03 pm

I'll be a Guinea Pig if you need one !
slarti99
Junior Scroller
Junior Scroller
 
Posts: 21
Joined: January 1st, 2011, 1:32 am

Re: How to replace build.prop to improve performance - updat

Postby Kommander » January 30th, 2011, 3:14 pm

Possibly a random query, but if anyone knows an answer, it'd help greatly.

Installed build.prop v3 140 and already noticing the benefits. I realise that the screen density has changed, however, is there a way to change the width of the lock screen overlay (where you drag your finger over the screen to unlock the tablet) so that it's not missing the edges of the screen in landscape mode?

It's the only thing that's bugging me!
David Kirkland

firmware version : v0.94
Kernel version : 2.6.29
Build number 2.1

Rooted | Clockworkmod'd | build.prop'd | PMT Slimmed | Nano installed
User avatar
Kommander
Donator
Donator
 
Posts: 80
Joined: January 13th, 2011, 3:39 am
Location: London, UK

Re: How to replace build.prop to improve performance - updat

Postby Charlie » January 30th, 2011, 3:18 pm

@Kommander

ummm, that is strange - i have build.prop v3 and do not have the same issue you are having - it does seem random.
" Just because you could, doesn't mean you should. "
User avatar
Charlie
Trusted Developer
Trusted Developer
 
Posts: 2471
Joined: December 28th, 2010, 8:41 pm
Location: UK
Real Name: Charlie
Scroll Version: Moto G 16GB (4.4.2 rooted)
Nexus 7 - G1 (4.4.2 rooted)
Huawei Y300 (4.1.1 rooted - TWRP)
MK809 (4.1.1 rooted - CWM)
Raspberry Pi B (512MB)

Retired: Excel (CM10) & 1st Gen' (2.1) Tab'.

Re: How to replace build.prop to improve performance - updat

Postby Kommander » January 30th, 2011, 3:32 pm

I'll switch back, then try again, see if that solves it.

It definately happened before I did the clockwork mod, that was done last. Are you using 140 or 160? I'm wondering if screen density / width has been hard coded for that component.
David Kirkland

firmware version : v0.94
Kernel version : 2.6.29
Build number 2.1

Rooted | Clockworkmod'd | build.prop'd | PMT Slimmed | Nano installed
User avatar
Kommander
Donator
Donator
 
Posts: 80
Joined: January 13th, 2011, 3:39 am
Location: London, UK

Re: How to replace build.prop to improve performance - updat

Postby Charlie » January 30th, 2011, 5:28 pm

@Kommander - I have it set as 140
" Just because you could, doesn't mean you should. "
User avatar
Charlie
Trusted Developer
Trusted Developer
 
Posts: 2471
Joined: December 28th, 2010, 8:41 pm
Location: UK
Real Name: Charlie
Scroll Version: Moto G 16GB (4.4.2 rooted)
Nexus 7 - G1 (4.4.2 rooted)
Huawei Y300 (4.1.1 rooted - TWRP)
MK809 (4.1.1 rooted - CWM)
Raspberry Pi B (512MB)

Retired: Excel (CM10) & 1st Gen' (2.1) Tab'.

Re: How to replace build.prop to improve performance - updat

Postby Kamikaze-X » January 31st, 2011, 6:41 pm

i want to enable hardware accelerated 3D... is editing the build prop the only way to do this atm, as i don't really want to ruin my pretty much perfectly running scroll atm.
Firmware V0.94
Rooted
Build.prop updated
Phone APKs removed
New Youtube
Loving My Scroll!
Kamikaze-X
Serious Scroller
Serious Scroller
 
Posts: 78
Joined: January 6th, 2011, 12:43 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Guides and HOW TO Tutorials for Various Scroll Tablets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron